Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Advisory Committees

Medical Advisory Committee

The Medical Advisory Committee (MACC) is the overaching advisory committee consisting of representation from all speciality groups.

  • Dr Jim Price (Chair)
  • Dr Arthur Vartis
  • Dr Ben Rehmel
  • Dr Gillian Mahy
  • Dr Harry Stalewski
  • Dr Ian Tassan
  • Dr John Avramovic
  • Dr John Binder
  • Dr Michael Clements
  • Dr Peter Kanowski
  • Dr Phil Gaudin
  • Dr Sam Baker
  • Dr Sean Latouf
  • Dr Steve Mokrzecki

Speciality Groups

The Mater has a range of speciality groups that meet regulary.  These specialist groups include:

  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology & Paediatrics 
  • Cardiothoracic Services
  • Cardiology
  • General Surgery, Urology and Vascular Services
  • Orthopaedic & Neurosurgical
  • Anaesthetic Services
  • Combined Physicians
  • Combined Surgical Subspeciality
  • Emergency Physicians
  • Intensive Care Services

Community Council 

This group represents the interest of consumers and was established as a consultative and advisory council regarding health services.  The group provides strategic advice on consumer engagement and helps to identify gaps, barriers and opportunities for improvement from a consumer and community perspective.

Council Members include representatives from Northern Australia Primary Health Ltd, Law Association,  Department of Defence, Catholic ministry, medical administration and community.

To find out more about registering your interest for this committee please contact

Stay in touch

Required field